Why should you choose Omeka?

Hi All, I know this is a big question, but probably the answer is simpler than expected.

I have been working with wordpress and drupal for a long time. I am now studying Omeka which seems to be the best choice for certain clients (museums, libraries etc…). But I would like to hear from you, or at least be redirected where I can find more info about… why to choose Omeka. What is it that really makes it different from wordpress, or drupal? Is there anything that Omeka offers in a truly unique way and that makes it the best choice for libraries, museums, and digital archives in general?

Thank you.

Thanks for your question, Tomeka. I’ve been hanging back on answering to see if Omeka users would jump in. Certainly, the view of the project director is a very particular one! In 2010, our colleague Tom Scheinfeldt tried to answer the exact question you’ve posed: Omeka - Omeka and Its Peers From a distance of fifteen years, much of that is still relevant. But, I might articulate some specific things about the ways that the software is designed that might be useful to your thinking.

One way to think about the difference between Omeka (Classic and S) and WordPress and Drupal is that the concept of Items are at the heart of the systems and the building process. While the core elements of WordPress are the “posts” and "pages,’ and Drupal is so amorphous as to be composed of ultimately flexible “nodes,” one cannot do anything useful with Omeka without wanting to create and publish a group of items. For users of Omeka Classic, most of those items tend to be digitized cultural heritage materials. With Omeka S, those items might represent less concrete entities such as events and concepts and they might not have media representations.