What is best practice for developing different page type layouts in Omeka S?

Hi everyone,

I am new to developing my own theme in Omeka S. What I would like to do, is to set up more than one type of layout.phtml and for a user to be able to choose from the admin section. For instance, I want to set up a layout template for a page type that will display a collection a certain way, with specific metadata fields set up, versus a default page. I also want to be able to have a separate home page because I will developing a full width slider with interactive elements that will be completely different from a typical page. Iā€™ve tried to research on this, but I canā€™t find any clear cut answers as to what the best practice is. Can anyone please elaborate on how to approach this? Thank you!

1 Like

I donā€™t really understand your issue. You can create two different themes and the admin can choose what theme to use.

You can also use conditional statements in your template file with eventually inclusions.

if( isset($user) )
  include 'layout_user.phtml';
else
  include 'layout_standard.phtml';

You can probably test whether the requested page is the home page (and to return a ā€œcompletely differentā€ page).

I just wanted to give a slightly different perspective. From what I understand, I think @pols12 is right about the different themes. If you want to have collections or item sets displayed differently, then you would create two separate sites within Omeka S where those items will be displayed and assign each site a different theme.

The layout .phtml would be the same for both themes so that you have the same styles and whatnot, but you would need to override a few of the view files. For example the /view/omeka/site/item/show.phtml which is copied from /application/view/omeka/site/item/show.phtml (see http://omeka.org/s/docs/developer/themes/modifying_themes/).