Updating dc:coverage with Geolocation address?

I’m using the Geolocation and Contribution plugins, and I’m interested in capturing whatever the user enters into the “find” (address) box and storing it directly in an item element, like dc:coverage.

Would it be possible to do this with some slight modifications to the Geolocation plugin? Perhaps somewhere in the hook below? I’m new to coding with Omeka plugins so any help or ideas at all would be appreciated.

public function hookAfterSaveItem($args)
    {
        if (!($post = $args['post'])) {
            return;
        }
        $item = $args['record'];
        // If we don't have the geolocation form on the page, don't do anything!
        if (!isset($post['geolocation'])) {
            return;
        }
        // Find the location object for the item
        $location = $this->_db->getTable('Location')->findLocationByItem($item, true);
        // If we have filled out info for the geolocation, then submit to the db
        $geolocationPost = $post['geolocation'];
        if (!empty($geolocationPost)
            && $geolocationPost['latitude'] != ''
            && $geolocationPost['longitude'] != ''
        ) {
            if (!$location) {
                $location = new Location;
                $location->item_id = $item->id;
            }
            $location->setPostData($geolocationPost);
            $location->save();
        } else {
            // If the form is empty, then we want to delete whatever location is
            // currently stored
            if ($location) {
                $location->delete();
            }
        }
    }

I’ve been trying to address this issue with a plugin that uses hookBeforeSaveItem. I’ve figured out how to add the address from geolocation into a DC element, but I don’t understand how to delete or replace existing element texts for that element. Here’s what I have so far:

?php

class GeoToCoveragePlugin extends Omeka_Plugin_AbstractPlugin
{