Theme with support for custom item field display

I’m new to Omeka-S, and I’m trying to figure out the best way to accomplish what I’m trying to do: display item metadata on the item page in a customized way – not just a list of the metadata but using each field in a different way. Such as:

Title: instead of listing the metadata as “title: This is the Page Title”, just display the title in a prominent way at the top of the page.

Sidebar – there are maybe five fields with contact information related to the entry; I’d like to list those in a sidebar.

Main content – most of the rest of the fields, but maybe they aren’t all showing.

I could envision two ways of doing this:

1. replace the $item->content declaration with a whole bunch of calls to individual metadata elements (I couldn’t find documentation for how to do that, but I assume it’s possible?) and sprinkle all that metadata into a page template that we’d write to do what we want.
    OR
  2. maybe there’s a template that supports portioning out a page into divs:
    Div1: Title [maybe with a checkbox that says “don’t display the field label for this one”
    Div2: put all the sidebar elements in this one (This one I’d also want to link the email and telephone items – that’s more complex).
    Div3: most of the fields
    Div4: don’t show these fields

What is a smart way to accomplish what I’m trying to do here? Is there a theme that supports that kind of behavior, or is this all just a custom item page? For a fully custom layouts, how can I call my metadata elements individually? (e.g. $item->getMetadata('FOAF','Personal mailbox')) .

This last one seems like a super-basic problem to solve, but I couldn’t find an answer in the documentation.

Thanks for your help!

Ken