Simple Pages HTML editor not working

Hi

I am new to OMEKA so I apologise for for what is probably a basic issue.

When I select the tick box for the HTML editor to be available in the Simple Pages tab - the editor appears but I am unable to type anything at all into the window - nor do any of the buttons function. If I deselect the tick box the dialogue box returns to the non HTM text entry field.

Am i doing something really stupid? I have tried engaging and reengaging the HTML filter but that makes no difference.

I would appreciate some help. I am experimenting with OMEKA at the moment with a view to introducing it to my studnets for a University course in digital content management.

Can you tell us what versions of Omeka and Simple Pages you are running? Is this on your university’s servers?

First of all thanks for trying to help.

Omeka 2.5.1 - Simple pages 3.0.8.

I have done some investigating myself and it does not work on the university server however I have an installation on a commercial server and that works just fine.

The university tends to nail down permissions and whatnot so it maybe that some security setting that will be kept well out of my reach needs to be reset.

Are there any permissions that need to be specifically set to allow the HTML editor to work? I note that one of the other plugins I installed ‘drop box’ did need to permissions changed.

One other thing - when it fails a ghost HTML editor is rendered immediately below the text editor box - that one doesn’t work either.

I could also be something going awry in the javascript, which could be browser-dependent. So, what browser(s) are you using? And, have you tried this in more than one browser?