Set up Universal Viewer with iiif server (beginner)

Hi, I am new to omeka and to (everything related). My final goal is to have a site to show some historical documents that I have annotated and ocr-ized (ALTO XML)

From what I understood, I need the modules Common, IIIF Server, Image Server, and Universal Viewer. I’ve installed them all already.

I am first trying to test and to get familiar to everything, so I am running omeka-s in a php localhost.

What I have now is that Universal Viewer apparently can’t show any image I try. I am uploading them in this way: New Item → Media → Add media → Upload

in the logs, I have the following message:
[404]: GET /iiif/2/11/info.json - No such file or directory

Indeed, I don’t seem to have an ‘iiif’ dir. I think I need to make some more configuration for the modules to work, but I am not sure how to. The instructions in the official pages of the modules are a bit confusing to me as someone who never worked with those things.

I’ve read about manifests, but I am not sure how should they come at play here. Do I need to manually write one for every image? Should one of the modules do it automatically (if configured right)? Where should they go? Is this even the issue?

Thank you for the help

Universal viewer is not able to display ocrized data, unless there is a plugin i don’t know. But it can use the ocrized data for search (via module IiifSearch).

Normally, no configuration is needed, the default one is working fine on install. Manifests are created automatically by module Iiif Server and info.json are created automatically by module Image Server. And there is no iiif dir, it is a route path to the module. The same for the main manifests, but they may be cached for performance via the directory files/iiif.

So is your media an image?

I want to do something similar to what was discussed here: