Permission denied for the current user to search the Omeka\Api\Adapter\UserAdapter resource

Hi Everyone,

I need to acces the /api/users endpoint on the API, but it doesn’t let me do that and returns
Permission denied for the current user to search the Omeka\Api\Adapter\UserAdapter resource.
Eventhough I am a global admin. Is there a header i should send with this API call, and if so what is that headers name and what is the value I should put in to.

I have been working on this issue for quiet a while now… Is there something I am missing?

Hello,
first you need to go to Users > Edit (pencil icon next to your privileged user) > TAB (API Keys) and set a new API key (let’s say 123456 use a secure one obviously).
On save you will presented with

key_identity: ZudzGSGxLTnv0KfvvzXQE6YNmRpEuCTW
key_credential: wUwPVS78K5NAFEprgIBGkEzBvtN281Hb

Then call your REST API using the above like this:
https://<DOMAIN>/api/users/?key_identity=ZudzGSGxLTnv0KfvvzXQE6YNmRpEuCTW &key_credential=wUwPVS78K5NAFEprgIBGkEzBvtN281Hb

Best

1 Like

is there a way I can hide this key from my clients? Like when I want to call it and get a specific user how can I hide my key_identity and credential from the clients browser

You should never call the API from the client side (at least those endpoints demanding credentials). The above should be called ALWAYS server-side.

If you are using a client side app (e.g. react) you should implement a proxy service that will hide this from end users. What I do, using next.js is to create endpoints under/api/ and then call these points only after the user is logged in (so there’s an authenticated session) or following the latest version to get the results and do the SSR first

What’s your case exactly?

I won’t be using my Global Admin key on the client side for sure. This is just to retrieve the metadata for a user with a researcher role.