PDF Text plugin does not appear to extract fulltext

I am brand new to Omeka, and started by installing the PDF Text plugin. I uploaded a single 16-page PDF and set the plugin to indexing the fulltext. After about half an hour, it does not appear to have done anything. When I look at the PDF Text : Text field, it’s empty. If I edit the entry by hand, it will search as desired, but the plugin doesn’t appear to be updating the field.

I FTPd the PDF up to the server and ran pdftotext on the command line, and it work ok (though it does throw some errors about fonts unless I run it with the -q quiet mode). Is there any way to diagnose where it’s breaking down, or track its progress, or anything like that?

Thanks
Ken

PS - I’m using Omeka 2.6.1 and PDF Text 1.3

The best way for me to diagnose where it’s breaking down is to test the file on my installation. Would you send me the problem PDF (upload or link)?

Hi Jim – thanks for the reply.
Here’s a link to a downloadable copy of the file:

Thanks
Ken

The plugin successfully extracts text from that PDF on my installation, and I get no errors when extracting text on the command line. What version of pdftotext do you have? Run pdftotext -v to get the version.

It’s pdftotext version 0.12.4. And it’s working on the command line with this file.

Given that it’s the first document I’m uploading to a new Omeka install and the first plugin I’m adding to that install, I’m guessing that something about my setup isn’t working as planned, and I wonder where I can start on tracking down the problem. Maybe a bad permissions setting?

Is it possible to tell if the plugin as initiating any processes or if it’s not even getting that far? I don’t know what tools might exist on the server for diagnosing the problem.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Ken

You can activate error logging following these directions: https://omeka.org/classic/docs/Troubleshooting/Retrieving_Error_Messages/#activate-error-logging