Clarifying my last question - if I import a back up copy of my site into my original site with the goal of restoring one deleted exhibit will I also have duplicates of everything else that will then need to be deleted?
Yeah, the API import won’t be able to tell that your copy of the older version of the site is really the “same” as your current site, so you’ll get duplication if you do that.
It sounds like this is my only option though - is there any other way to restore just one exhibit?
Grabbing just the appropriate rows from the backed-up exhibit tables, the ones that reference that exhibit, is the only option I can think of.
You could delete everything but the exhibit from the copied site and then import… but I don’t think it’s going to work well in terms of attached items in the exhibit and things like that.