Link types between objects

Hi,

I’m new to Omeka S. We have an extensive database and consider to migrate from Collective Access to Omeka S.

The database has the data type book and the datatype person (and other data types). The books can be linked to one or more persons (the number is arbitrary) and there are a number of different types of relationships between book and person. So, in the old software we would create a link and select a link type to express that. The link types are: “is connected to”, “assumed connection to”, “belongs to” and “supplied by”.

What is the best way to model that in Omeka S? I considered creating a separate property for every link type. However, there are number of data types that can be linked (books and persons are just examples) and there is a number of link types for each combination which would result in a lot of properties.

Any answer (or question) would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Martin

How many types of links do you think you’re talking here? I’d tend to agree that having them be properties is probably the most natural expression of that relationship.

There are other options, like using a more generic property like “Relation” and then describing the linkage with an annotation, but I don’t think I’d recommend going that route with what you’ve described here.

Hello,

For the datatype book, person etc, there are multiple ways:

• use the classes :
    – it will be necessary to use multiple ontology to specify the content (ex: “Book” is in the Bibliographical Ontology, “Person” is in the Friend of a friend, “Collection” is in the Dublin Core Type etc.) Be careful if you expose your metadata with OAI, some of bases doesn’t accept other vocabulary than Dublin Core
    – in the same way you can, if exposition with OAI is not your object, use the plugin Custom Ontology to create your own Classes
  • use the properties: