Import a lot of media in existing items

Hello,
I’m using Omeka S version 3.2.3.
I would like to complete some item sheets, which were already created a long time ago by another team, with pdf media that I have on my workstation.
My first intention was to create a php script to modify the tables in the Omeka database directly, but on reflection, this doesn’t seem to be a good idea.
I’ve seen that you can batch import media into Omeka S. I’m a real novice and I’m still having a bit of trouble with the Omeka vocabulary. That’s why I’m having trouble understanding the requests that deal with this problem in the forum.
I could make a CSV file with one column containing the item ID (the internal ID of the database), another with the title of the document and another with the path of the file on the server (there is no other information to provide on PDFs).
Is this enough to carry out the import and how do I go about it?
Thank you in advance for trying to help me

Hi @vince2corte ,

I think you’re on the right track.

I would recommend using the CSV Import Module (Omeka S - CSV Import) and the File Sideload module (File Sideload - Omeka S User Manual).

Together these modules will let you upload the PDFs to your server, reference them in your CSV, and then import them as Media attached to the associated Item.

At the risk of being that guy, have you looked at the manual for the module? It walks you through the steps reasonably well.
https://omeka.org/s/docs/user-manual/modules/csvimport/
(Specifically the Import Media section, but the whole thing is very good.)

But also, one short version of the important parts of that is: set the Import Type to Media on the first screen, set the Action to Append in the Advanced Settings tab of the second screen, and pay attention to the choice about what to do if a resource isn’t found (“Action on unidentified resources”).

1 Like

Thank you very much. I will try do use CV import and File Sideload.