Image Rotation Errors

I’m a pretty novice user here, just starting last night. That said it seems the software is pretty intuitive and so I’ve done a considerable amount of migration from our offline-database onto the new Omeka powered domain. (Buildingartscenterarchive.org). That said there’s a bug which is driving me crazy, and it appears 30-40% of the time after I upload an image file…

That image will upload but rotate itself 90 degrees. This looks terrible, and I’ve thought about writing in disclaimers for users that to view the image right side up, they just have to click on the thumbnail–but that’s kind of not acceptable. Worse, 10-15% of the time no image thumbnail will load at all, yes the image will be there, but then I absolutely need to provide a disclaimer–that in fact there is an image, even if there isn’t a thumbnail.

Is this something I’m doing wrong? We really don’t have the time or skills to create our own theme, which we absolutely need to do in the future, is this theme related?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Since you’re migrating what seems like a large number of images, are you using the Dropbox plugin? If not, you might try that and see if that makes a difference. Nice pictures - hope you can figure it out.

Thanks. I haven’t tried that yet, I’m just going straight from a networked HDD. We’ve got thousands more to upload.

I’ll get right on this, thanks again.

Guess I’m stuck in a rut again, while trying to install and enable the plugin, and following the instructions, my FTP client won’t let me enter the command (chmod -r 775 files). It keeps saying that’s incorrect.

And again, let me stress my tech-less skills. I manage wordpress quite well and fine, but this, this is tricky. Here is where I’m trying to enter the command in the ‘files’ folder:

Is that wrong?