How to customize search dropdown?

I’m running Classic 2.7.1 hosted on Reclaim, using the Emiglio theme.

I’ve created customized field labels for the Item display in record-metadata.php.

I’d like to do the same for the field names in the search dropdown. I don’t want to change any of the search functionality, just the display labels in the “Narrow by Specific Fields” dropdown. Which file do I edit for that? I’m not an expert PHP coder, so an example would also help.

The item advanced search form view is at items/search-form.php (within application/views/scripts and copyable to the theme, similar to common/record-metadata.php).

The dropdown for picking an element to search is a $this->formSelect call with the title “Search Field”, and the get_table_options part of that call is the piece that specifically gets the labels and values for the choices in the dropdown. Changing that to something else will change what options are shown on the form.

You have different options for how to change that: the simplest is probably simply hardcoding an array of the choices you want to show there and their labels, as that would accomplish both customizing the labels and tailoring down the choices to your desired options. get_table_options there returns a simple array: the keys are the IDs of each element that can be selected, and the values are the labels for each element.

It’s also possible to just take the dropdown values exactly as they normally are and just change some of the labels.

So this section:

get_table_options(‘Element’, null, array(
‘record_types’ => array(‘Item’, ‘All’),
‘sort’ => ‘orderBySet’)

Since I’m not very good at this, if you can give me an example of how to format one, I’d really appreciate it.

For example, in record-metadata.php, I use:

<?php foreach ($setElements as $elementName => $elementInfo): ?>
<div id="<?php echo text_to_id(html_escape("$setName $elementName")); ?>" class="element">
    <h3>