Contributor information

I am creating a local history page for my community. I am a high school teacher and created an account for each of my students. I had several photos to upload, so I pushed out 10 or so photos to each student to make light work of the process. After they were finished, I found that many had inappropriate tags, titles, etc. I don’t mind making the minor changes. It is an easy process.

Here is my problem: I had them credit the local historic preservation community for the photos, so their names are not associated with the item. Is there a way for me to locate which account added an item? If it helps, they added the item through the admin window rather than the contributor page.

I am really new to this, so sorry if this has been asked before.

This doesn’t look like it works retroactively, but History Log might get you the information more easily going forward.

An immediate, if awkward work around might be to install the Reassign Ownership plugin. It has little testing, so it’s not among the official plugins on omeka.org. But when it’s installed, when you edit an item it shows the current owner in the dropdown for changing ownership.

Hope that helps

Thanks. I’ll take a look at the History Log plug in. To be perfectly honest, I can get around it by having them contribute their items through the contribute page. That way, I can see the item contributor info from the admin window. I didn’t realize I could add more fields to the contributor page.

Is it possible to limit a contributor to only be able to add through the contributor page and not the admin window?

In general, I’m a big fan of not duplicating work, and what you are aiming toward sounds like duplication, if data has already been supplied. Redoing submissions via Contribution sounds like a lot of redoing work, both for you and for your students. So, I’m looking for options to minimize that.