Book and book viewer

Hello everybody. I’m building a digital collection of books, composed by many png files (one for each page).
This books should be visualized in the virtual exhibition, but for now It could be enough to put them in the digital library (as you can imagine I’m a beginner).
I’m trying to create this workflow: first, use the Dropbox plugin to upload the files, second: create an item for each book - where I can upload all the page’s file. I can’t add the Universal Viewer plugin in Omeka Classic 2.6.1 and I’m trying without success other plugins (docsviewer, connected carousel and others).
Do you think that the workflow is correct? Have you got any suggestions for the viewer plugin? thank you very much!

I’m a little behind in replying but I just saw this post. The way I have worked with paged material is to put all the images for a book in a single item and then you can use the universal viewer for that item and all the images will appear in the viewer. I have not tested the limits of this but I have loaded up to a couple hundred images to an item so you may need to divide longer books into multiple items. You can use the Dropbox plugin to load all the images on a single item as well. If Universal Viewer is not possible to use, you could use the image carousel plugin or the Connected Carousel plugin that will show all the images associated with an item as a carousel. Look at https://orsonwelles.indiana.edu/items/show/1963#?c=0&m=0&s=0&cv=0&xywh=-1062%2C-1%2C4605%2C3185 for an example using the Universal Viewer.

That looks great, wmcowan!

But I have another question… how does that work with OCRed materials? ABBYY FineReader doesn’t have an option to output as images. Is there a way to make files keyword searchable AND display in page-turning format in Omeka? I know that’s possible on other platforms.