Admin login 404, no Apache access

Hi, all! I’m relatively new to Omeka, having used it for a handful of class projects in an already-installed format, so this end of things is new to me. I’ve been trying to install it onto my webspace for the domain I bought through Ionos and just sat on their help line for an hour trying to get the .htaccess file to work to let me install, which it finally did. I was able to get to the install page and fill out admin information, but immediately got redirected to a 404 that reads “/admin/users/login is not a valid URL.”

I don’t have direct access to the server through Apache (as far as I know) because I use a hosting company, which is what most of the solutions I’ve seen on here suggest. I assume it’s an issue with the .htaccess file or mod_rewrite, but for the life of me I can’t figure it out. I have the .htaccess file that Ionos (the hosting company) provided me via customer service that fixed the install problem, but I can’t fix mod_rewrite if that’s the issue. Just trying to work on my thesis and redirect my nervous energy :slight_smile: Thanks in advance.

What did you end up working out to get the .htaccess to work for the install? Did they tell you what they did? There’s a reasonable probability that the error you’re seeing now is an .htaccess problem, too. If you could share a screenshot that would help… my guess would be that the error page has the look of the default public theme, meaning that the .htaccess isn’t directing requests properly to the admin side.

For shared hosting, you usually don’t need access to edit Apache’s configuration: shared hosts generally enable mod_rewrite and respect .htaccess files, which is all that’s required.

John–

Thanks for the quick reply. You’re right, it is showing the default theme with that error message.

This is (most of) the .htaccess file the Ionos support person uploaded that fixed the install issue: