I am using Omeka-S version 1.10.
I want to set user permission for a site from “Admin” to “Viewer” in the expectation that the user can see their site but not edit it further (add new pages, changes existing pages),
What happens is that there is no change in the ability of the user to edit. As a “Viewer” they can still add pages, add material to them and edit existing pages.
Am I misunderstanding what means “user can see the site’s backend but cannot edit”, or is “Viewer” permission an untested feature that does not work, or been corrected in a newer version? Is the “Viewer” role for the site overwritten by the “author” role given generally to the user?
Just for the record, why I want to do this is that I am using Omeka in education. Students gather material for an exhibit in part 1, which they present as a site. I then want to freeze further editing on these sites after a deadline. Thereafter students curate a part 2 site, based on different given themes, that draws on items from all the part 1 sites. So I do not want the sand to shift under the students’ feet as they construct their second site.