Resources/Guides/Tips for Omeka S custom theme building?

Hi all,

I’m new to Omeka and I’ve been researching the platform for a multi-site exhibits project I’m working on. Omeka S seems to be the ideal version to use, however I find its current selection of themes/templates to be minimal. I’ve been looking into customizing existing themes or even building a new one and there as well comprehensive documentation seems to be scant.

My challenge is not with HTML/CSS (I have experience with structure/layout and styling websites), but understanding the view helpers and functions/configuration needed to call and display content/layout. Basically, the structure of a theme.

Can anyone recommend resources/guides/tutorials/tips/best practices – anything beyond the basic (not particularly instructive…) steps in the current Omeka S documentation – that’s helped them with modifying/building an S theme?

Thanks.

PS - And if anyone from the Omeka team reads this–are there plans to expand documentation on theme building? Even recommended links would be helpful.

1 Like

Documentation for theme writers is an area we know we have to improve.

Do you have a specific idea of what you’d find most immediately useful, or what is most seriously lacking? The structure of a theme in terms of files is one of the few things there’s really anything concrete for.

One piece that was sorely missing was information about representations and how to use them to display data/metadata about records, and that’s a pretty major concept in the themes.

All -
We are slowly wandering a similar path to customize Omeka-S themes. Context: a couple of historians with just enough tech knowledge to be dangerous, are building an omeka-s based platform to hold sharable teaching resources for our campus faculty.