Packaging CKEditor in a plugin

Hello,

I’m relatively new to Omeka and would like to know if there is a way to add a CKEditor to my plugin. This isn’t really specific to CKEditor but applies to any JS library with the same constraints I suppose. Normally you need to put a directory of the library somewhere on the server. This directory contains scripts, stylesheets, images, etc. spread out in subdirectories.

Is there a way I can put this directory in my plugin and be able to reference it through a regular URL in my code (so without requiring the Omeka administrator to manually install it somewhere on his server and then configure the URL in the plugin settings - which is what I am currently doing)?

It will only be accessed from the admin edit pages for specific item types (in a tab added via filterAdminItemsFormTabs).

Thank you for any help

Yes, you can include pretty much whatever you want in terms of Javascript libraries in a plugin. If you put the files under views/shared/javascripts (or admin or public rather than shared if it should only be used on one “side”) then you can access them with the queue_js_file or js_tag functions in a view. Within a tab on the item edit form you’ll probably have to use js_tag.

Out of curiosity, what’s the reason you want to use CKEditor rather than the already-provided TinyMCE?

you can access them with the queue_js_file or js_tag functions in a view

I was under the impression that this would break the relative references within the CKEditor library (to other scripts, stylesheets and images) based on a similar problem I had with Wordpress - I may just have been mistaken back then as well. I will try it out, thanks.

Out of curiosity, what’s the reason you want to use CKEditor rather than the already-provided TinyMCE?