Neatline Question

Hi everyone

I am brand new to Omeka. I was wondering if there is a way that I can allow my users to change the transparency of a neatline wms layer. I have historic maps layered on top of google maps, and I would like viewers of the site to be able to slide up & down (or using some other method) the transparency/opacity of the historic map. I understand how to do so myself as the site admin, but once it is set by me, it does not seem to be editable by my viewers.

Thanks
Kirsten

Hi Kirsten,

Unfortunately, there isn’t a way to do this so that users can change the view. We’re always interested in exploring new functions, though. Could you tell me a bit more about this use case that you’re thinking about?

Thanks!
Ronda

Thanks. I am mostly experimenting with Omeka and Neatline at this point and trying to figure out if I can use the software in my (high school) literature classes. At the moment, I am creating a site for my African-American literature class depicting the characters’ journeys over time in Toni Morrison’s Beloved ( Kentucky, Georgia, Alabama and especially Cincinnati, Ohio) and also August Wilson’s Pittsburgh plays. I have not yet figured out whether I’ll be having the students create their own projects as part of the class (maybe tracing imagery & themes) or just use my site for historical background information. But one of the most interesting parts of looking at the historical maps has been comparing the segregation patterns in those cities now vs. at the time the books are set. Plus so many of the course’s books explore the Northern migration of African-Americans post-Emancipation.