Incorrect terminology

Have been looking at Omeka S Sandbox, and one thing that jumped out is the incorrect use of the term “vocabulary”. The Vocabularies section (under Resources) actually refers to Metadata Schemas, not Vocabularies.

“Vocabs/vocabularies” is used correctly in other contexts, e.g. the “Custom Vocab” and “Value Suggest” modules.

The terminology is all a bit new for Omeka and as always there’s some overlap, but it’s my understanding that “vocabulary” isn’t uncommon at least in the way its being used there: see e.g. Linked Open Vocabularies, or the World Wide Web Consortium’s linked data glossary.

Or am I misunderstanding your issue with the usage?

Hi John, I’m a librarian, and “vocabularies” are used within this profession to refer to lists of preferred terminology e.g. Library of Congress Subject Headings, the Boolean yes/no, Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names etc.

My judgement is that the way it is being used in your 2 example links is incorrect. The “vocabularies” referred to in those links are actually metadata schemas, as they describe the fields which make up the schema/resulting templates. If they were describing terms that could go into the fields, they could correctly be called vocabularies.

This sounds like a problem of Omeka S being used in a variety of contexts and disciplines. Some of the terminology does clash across those disciplines. If we keep to the usage in one discipline, we’ll lose the usage in another discipline, so it will always be a nuance of context. Since Linked Open Data folks use ‘Vocabulary’ often enough, and Omeka S is oriented around LOD, it seems best to keep to that terminology while we’re in the context of those metadata schemas / vocabularies.