Effects of deactivating Contribution plugin?

I have inherited an old Omeka installation that is using the Contribution plugin, version 2.2.1. We would like to discontinue contributions but keep the existing contributions. Will existing contributions and their metadata be adversely affected if I deactivate the plugin? Safe to go ahead? Thanks!

In general, deactivation is a “safe” process that doesn’t remove data.

Uninstalling the plugin will remove the data specific to the plugin. For Contribution 2, this will not remove the contributed items, but will remove the configuration of the contribution form, the records of which items were contributed through the plugin, and the metadata about the contributors.

Thanks, John. That is extremely helpful.