Can Omeka Classic themes be used in Omeka S?

Hello,

I’m new to the Omeka platform and working on an exhibit project for my library. We want to build several sites and it seems Omeka S is the version to use. However, S doesn’t have as many theming options as Classic. And I’m wondering: Can a Classic theme be used in S? What’s the difference between themes across the two versions?

The themes are basically totally different.

You could make use of some of the styles and little things here or there, but you really can’t just take a classic theme and use it in S, or vice-versa.

@jflatnes Thanks for the response.

In that case, I may be looking at custom theming since the current S themes might be too basic for our [layout] needs. But I’ve browsed Omeka S’ documentation and it seems scant on the finer details of theme building–understanding the file structure/views folders and working with the view helpers (new to me) and functions. Do you have recommendations for resources that could illuminate/demystify how to connect these various parts?

We’re very interested in more documentation for theme customization as well; we do understand they’re quite different than Classic. Would be particularly interested to see something like the ‘Big Picture’ theme on S.

I’ll start another/separate thread about this; maybe there can be a shared discussion around creating more robust documentation around theme building.

1 Like